Hao bu Hao #1

Hao – 好

  • Veronique‘s blockprinting workshop:

    It was just awesome ! A wonderful technique that I thought was more for kids but finally loved doing and creating my own stamps ; and still doing it after the 3-hours workshop, as all the material is provided, such as the homemade breaskfast…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Don’t hesitate to check the “MakeinChina” FB page, to know more about the workshops or to see more events and pictures.

 

  • Hong-Kong with my Love:

As you saw on my blog or on my social medias, we spent 3 days for renewing my tourist visa ; before receiving the working one, at the end of March/beginning of April. It was a nice time there, and great to discover this city ; but I have to say that we didn’t spend a lot of time to do the perfect tourists, and our list has not been ticked a lot either. But anyway, I might have to come back there very soon, for this so expected working visa… Stay tuned !

 

  • New objectives:

    Since I arrived in China, and as I already told you here or there, I have a lot of different opportunities: personal, professional or others. And to me, the most important about this adventure in China, is to accomplish what I always wanted to ; but what was impossible to do in France or just too hard to be motivated enough.

Now that I am here, I know I can do big things. And I don’t want to let it go ; I just want to enjoy each meeting/workshop/jobtime/etc to have more and more experience, not only professional but also in international education or management etc.

I know that everything is possible here. And that I have everything to succeed. Stay tuned for the next projects I am working on…!

cropped-composition1.jpg

 

  • Discovering new places in Shanghai:

As you might also know, I love discovering new places in Shanghai, especially coffeeshops ; markets and above all, places I never went before and others that even Chinese people don’t know in their own city..! It is exactly what I did several times ; and I have another objective for that, haha.

The first place is a nice coffeeshop in Hengshan Lu, called 5 Space, on the 3rd floor of a clothes shop and I have to say, this is very comfortable: you can read and drink a cup of whatever you want and you can also buy books there ! Love it ; and that’s why 2 weeks ago, I brought T. and M. there, to spend a nice Sunday evening there, me blogging and them laughing about Youtube videos

The other one I wanted to speak about, is actually a market that even Chinese people don’t seem to know: there, you can 1) be lost easily ; 2) find every notebook you’re looking for/ animal’s erasers/pens/pencils/colourful papers/tools/brushes/etc. This is my friend Cathleen, another woman’trepreneuse you’re gonna meet very soon, whe brought me there. And we spent a so nice and funny time there, asking for everything in Chinese, even for technical objects we need for our workshops together ! Can’t wait to bring my fiancé there, this weekend or later !

  • Being independant and loving it:

Since I quit my previous teaching job, I spend the whole mornings working from home and sometimes, also the complete afternoons. I have so many projects in my mind, that I need to write down, that it doesn’t even affect me, not to see people for one day or two, except my fiancé, of course… I love being alone and listening to music in the morning ; doing some stuff for home and preparing my classes or my day/week/month/year/… on my bullet journal or somewhere else…

That’s for this reason that I decided to be part-time at home, even if I will get my full-time very soon ; I still have hours to complete my week and I am preparing so great things with friends and just for myself…

I am now so happy to be the person I wanted to be/stay: entrepreneur ; goal-driver and more than open-minded.


Bu Hao – 不好

  • Waiting, and waiting again for my working visa:

As you have certainly understood, it is already been more than one year that I am looking for a full-time job in Shanghai, since the moment I came back home after my first trip and month to and in Shanghai last year. Already one year that I started to contact the different schools in this city, and I am almost sure, now, that I wrote to all of them: bilingual, international, French, English and Montessori ones, etc. I also tried to meet some independant people, who created their own companies, as they didn’t find the right school for them ; and this is one of them which is my future workplace.
Another problem I had to face when I was looking for a job in China, was the fact I am not a native English speaker and that I don’t speak “American” (sic !) ; so, even at the Jobsfair I went in November and where I found my first part-time teaching job, it has always been an issue and the salary was not that high, even though I have this Master Degree in Education, and majored in Primary School Teaching plus several experiences and other trainings.

Bref, I know the good news are coming soon, maybe sooner than expected ; and on this Day, I know I will be so grateful and happy to finally celebrate it, with the people I love here, in Shanghai.

  • Have no more students in the meantime:

Being a tutor means a lot of things in China. As education is a business, the parents pay a lot for having a private tutor at home, anytime (even on Sundays !). So, I had to say yes to a lot of them, to be sure to have enough at the end of the month. Therefore, I was not receiving a lot from my company, as the travels were not refund and as my hourly rate was very low, compared to native English speakers but though, non-professional people in the educationnal field… So, little by little, and even they respected me more than French parents in France, I lost all my students, because as they pay, parents think they can decide to change the teacher anytime, without any reason or just because it has been a while that you were teaching their kids (3 months…).

  • Not being the friend I would like to be:

I recently realised I was not the right friend for a lot of them. Not that I have a lot of friends, but I am never the right person with the right personality or the right expressions at the right time…

It is so frustrating but at the same time, it means a lot to me. And I don’t want to change everything in my personality ; so I decided to only write to the people I want and above all, when I want it, as I know me and my values.

  • Living in a shared appartment:

Living in a shared appartment is not a real problem to me. But recently, as we have had different problems to solve by ourselves, as we cannot count on anyone here, I decided to look for another place, where only my fiancé and me would live. It is still in process, as I am waiting for my new workcontract ; but definitely, we will move out soon, and I am planning to share it with you, with articles and maybe some vlogs, if you’re interested in it… Let me know in the comments ! I thought it would be interesting to show you how it works, here, in China !

  • Being so skinny:

As you may have noticed, I am not that big… I’ve always been skinny and always criticised for this reason. I never cared. But now that I recently lost pounds again, I decided to start to eat more and at more regular hours, etc. If you’re also interested in the methods I am using to get 5 more kilos, let me know.

 

I hope you enjoyed this new category, inspired by one of the several magazines for expatriate people in Shanghai,

See you !

Love,

Roseline.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

